Rye Meads again

Rye Meads is a 58.5 hectare biological Site of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI) in Rye House, Hertfordshire. It is also part of the Lea Valley RAMSAR site (a group of internationally important wetland sites) and a Special Protection Area. The SSSI is divided into three areas. North of Rye Road is the Rye Meads nature reserve, which is open to the public. The western half of this nature reserve, next to the River Lea in the Lee Valley Regional Park, is managed by the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds (RSPB). The eastern half is managed by the Hertfordshire and Middlesex Wildlife Trust (HMWT). The SSSI also includes a meadow and lagoons owned by Thames Water south of Rye Road which is not open to the public.

The RSPB reserve has ten birdwatching hides, trails and a visitor centre. Birds include kingfisher, snipe, green sandpiper, shoveler, gadwall and tufted duck.

The HMWT site is an ancient flood meadow which has a variety of habitats including reedbed, marshy grassland and fen. It is grazed by ponies and water buffalo.

Thames Path

London Marathon 2017

The London Marathon (presently known through sponsorship as the Virgin Money London Marathon) is a long-distance running event held in London, United Kingdom, part of the World Marathon Majors. The event was first run on 29 March 1981 and has been held in the spring of every year since. Since 2010, the race has been sponsored by Virgin Money.

The most recent event was the 2017 London Marathon on 23 April 2017. The date of the next London Marathon has yet to be confirmed, however it is likely to be Sunday 22 April 2018.

Elite Race results

    1st Daniel Wanjiru Kenya 02:05:48
    2nd Kenenisa Bekele Ethiopia 02:05:57
    3rd Bedan Karoki Kenya 02:07:41
    1st Mary Keitany Kenya 02:17:01
    2nd Tirunesh Dibaba Ethiopia 02:17:56
    3rd Aselefech Mergia Ethiopia 02:23:08

Wheelchair races results

    1st David Weir United Kingdom 01:31:06
    2nd Marcel Hug Switzerland 01:31:07
    3rd Kurt Fearnley Australia 01:31:07
    1sr Manuela Schär Switzerland 01:39:57
    2nd Amanda McGrory United States 01:44:34
    3rd Susannah Scaroni United States 01:47:37